CascadingDropDown extender

The time has come for me to write an opinionated post. In today’s post I will not explain anything, although I was going to…

Being so madly obsessed with drop down lists lately (you’ve had a chance to follow my obsession thorough the posts on this blog), I’ve decided to give a try to CascadingDropDown extender. After all, it seemed as a really nice and easy way to get around all the javascript / xml-script and still have client side data binding.

So, I’ve studied it a bit, watched the video, opened the examples, then read the documentation again… It was quite confusing, I’d even say mysterious. This extender is more designed as a puzzle game than something that should improve our (developers) productivity.

Nevertheless, I’ve started to play around with it, but than bang! One needs to use xml as data source to be able to use this extender. Ok, I will allow that I have misunderstood something, but take a look at this screenshot yourself. Intellisense does no suggest any other solution than xml.

What a ...?

Don’t get me wrong, xml is cool and I have nothing in particularly against it, but was it really that hard to enable this extender for data set, data table or even a simple string array for that matter? Do I really need to write the code to get data out of sql server, make an xml document out of that data, then bind this extender to this xml document, because if so I’ll just stick with the xml-script and javascript.

If you managed to understand how to use CacadingDropDown extender with data tables, please let me know. Leave a comment or just drop me an email (it’s on the “about” page).


This blog is being delivered to you by
reBlogger.com
“Do you know what your employees are blogging about?”


3 Responses to “CascadingDropDown extender”

  1. Shawn Burke Says:

    No you don’t that’s the xml pattern, and I agree, it’s not the most straight forward method. We actually have a walkthrough for this:

    http://atlas.asp.net/atlastoolkit/Walkthrough/CCDWithDB.aspx

  2. Thanks Shawn - CascadingDropDown extender (explained) « Coding Atlas Says:

    […] Several days ago I wrote a post on CascadingDropDown extender. I was a bit frustrated and blog about it, because I have thought it is only possible to use this extender in conjunction with xml document. Turns out, you can use it with datatables indeed. […]

  3. steroids Says:

    Great information… thanks for you review and tutorial about how to comment.
    I think if we walk to other blog we most comment to give appreciate for owner.


Leave a Reply

